Long time, no entries

Well, it’s been a while since I wrote anything here.
 
Not sure what’s happening with the band thing.  Dennis is fun to play with, but I’m not a big fan of doing all the singing.  I don’t think he is either.  Add to that the fact that I have not been practicing in the last three weeks and I’m feeling very under prepared for the next jam session, which will hopefully be this Sunday.
 
On the teaching front, I have successfully survived the first month with Ashley.  Or, to put it more accurately, she has survived the first month with me.  She’s got a huge amount of desire, which is probably what is sustaining her.  I’m largely failing as a teacher on too many levels, but I’m learning and I’m pulling it together.  She is doing what I ask and is progressing slowly.   Her biggest problem is the same thing that nearly all guitar students have, she has trouble slowing herself down.  She wants to play at full speed right from day one and needs to learn how to slow herself down.  Also, she has been taught two songs, but whoever taught them to her (she said an ex-boyfriend) either didn’t know what he was doing, or didn’t clue her in to everything he was doing.  The way she was playing the chords she was playing was just plain wrong, and one of the chords he had shown her for one song was just the wrong chord.  It sounded good in the key of the song, but it’s not the one that is played on the recording.  She wasn’t aware of that when I pointed it out to her (and I’m not sure she believes me yet).  I think mainly she had been told it was the correct chord and she just accepted it and after playing it that way for a while, it was what her ear was trained to hear as correct.  Again, this is another common beginner mistake.
 
I can remember that happening to me.  Several of my friends back in high school used to play the intro to "Hells Bells" by AC/DC.  They taught me how they played it and I was content believing it was correct until years later when I saw a professional transcription.  The transcription was very different from how I played it, so I put the song on the stereo and played along with it for the first time.  Damned if what I was playing did not match up to what was on the recording.  That was a big eye-opener for me.  About 70% of the TAB on the internet is like this, sadly.
 
It’s time to shoot another video.  I’m bummed out because I can’t afford to start phase III with Scott, let alone pay a rock guitar teacher to teach me.  I need more students, but I need to get my act together as a teacher, too.  I need to find some more advertising outlets that make sense.  Right now the flyers just aren’t doing the trick yet.
 
But anyway, a year ago I filmed two videos of my playing Studies 1 and 2 by Fransisco Tarrega.  I posted #1 on YouTube and it’s time to post #2 and then shoot some new videos to post as a comparison, to see if I’ve made significant progress in this past year.  This is not just to check progress on those two pieces, but also to check progress on my classical playing in general.
 
I need to make time to learn some rock songs for Sunday and Dennis as well…
 
So much to do, so little time to do it in….
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

